Corbett Prize

The Corbett Prize will recognize one outstanding young researcher at ICDS-2015. It consists of a certificate signed by the Conference Chairs and a monetary prize of €500. The Prize is named in memory of James W. Corbett, one of the pioneers in the field of defects in semiconductors, who always helped and encouraged young researchers. The candidates must be less than 35 years of age on the first day of the conference. They must be the main contributors to the presented research, in terms of ideas and actual execution of the research.

Candidates are required to indicate in the regular abstract submission that they wish to be considered for the Corbett Prize. In addition, candidates are required to submit a letter that (1) states that the candidate meets the Corbett Prize requirements, (2) outlines the scientific merit of their work and how it advances the field of defects in semiconductors, and (3) details the specific contributions of the candidate to this work. Further, candidates are required to provide an additional letter from their adviser/supervisor specifying the contributions of the candidate to the work that is being submitted. These two letters, limited to one page each, should be emailed to icds2015(at) by March 31st. Only one abstract per applicant will be considered for the Corbett Prize. Invited speakers and program committee members are not eligible for the prize.

Up to 8 finalists will be selected from the list of applicants by a panel of judges. These finalists will be interviewed by the panel during the poster session. The criteria for judging the contribution are:
– scientific quality and originality of the work;
– excellence of the candidate’s contribution;
– knowledge and depth of understanding exhibited by the candidate.

The Corbett posters will remain exhibited until the end of the conference for general viewing. The winner will be announced at the conference banquet.

timelineCorbett prize winners

  • 2015 (Espoo, Finland):
    Thomas Auzelle, now PhD student at Université Grenoble Alpes, CEA-CNRS, France
    Jan E. Stehr, now assistant professor at Linköping University, Sweden (PhD in 2011)
  • 2013 (Bologna, Italy):
    Daniel José da Silva, now post-doc at KU Leuven (PhD in 2014)
  • 2011 (Nelson, New Zealand):
    Ben Green, now research scientist at Element Six, UK (PhD in 2013)
  • 2009 (St Petersburg, Russia):
    Yoshihiro Gohda, now professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan (PhD in 2003)
    Pavel Petrov, now senior scientist at Ioffe Institute, Russia (PhD in 2001)
  • 2007 (Albuquerque, USA):
    Fadwa El-Mellouhi, now senior scientist at Qatar Energy and Environment Research Institute, Qatar (PhD in 2006)
  • 2005 (Awaji Island, Japan):
    Hannes Raebiger, now professor at Yokohama National University, Japan (PhD in 2006)
    Savas Berber, now professor at Gebze Technical University, Turkey (PhD in 2004)
    Sukit Limpijumnong, now professor at Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand (PhD in 2000)
  • 2003 (Aarhus, Denmark):
    Naoki Fukata, now group leader at NIMS, Japan (PhD in 1998)